
First Edition Conversion Rules (1/26/04)
This document provides rules needed to mix Second Edition cards with First Edition
cards in games using First Edition rules. Only Second Edition cards that have a First
Edition Compatible indicator in the lower left corner may be used with First Edition rules.

These rules do not replace any existing rules governing First Edition cards unless
explicitly stated. For example, the rules provided for dilemmas apply only to Second
Edition cards, and do not replace normal dilemma resolution rules for existing First
Edition cards.

Entries that are new, changed, or expanded since the last version of this document
(8/25/03) are marked with an asterisk (*) before the topic.

abilities – See personnel. 

Astrometrics – See skills.

Bajoran Resistance – First Edition cards which refer to Resistance (such as Palukoo
or Bajoran Resistance Cell) require First Edition personnel who have that skill, and
cannot be used with Second Edition personnel who have the Bajoran Resistance
keyword.

battle – The word “combat” means “personnel battle.” The word “engagement” means
“ship battle.”

When a card describes an effect “if you win” a battle, carry out that effect after any
other effects of that battle, such as randomly selecting a personnel to be killed in a
personnel battle, or placing Tactic cards as damage markers in a ship battle.

Borg affiliation cards – All Borg affiliation cards are treated as if they had a ∆ (Delta
Quadrant) icon.

All Borg personnel are treated as if they had a subcommand icon instead of a staff or
command icon. The 1EC icon of a Borg personnel is color-coded to indicate which
subcommand icon the personnel receives: blue indicates Communication, green
indicates Navigation, and red indicates Defense.

brig – This word refers to your brig, as identified by Holding Cell Door or Security
Holding Cell.

When a card instructs you to place a personnel in your brig, move the personnel
directly to your brig. If you do not have a brig in play, use the capturing card as a
“trap card” instead.

capturing-related card – Any card using the keyword Capture or Punishment is a
capturing-related card. See Evek, Attaché to the Demilitarized Zone.

classification – See personnel.

Cloaked Mission – This First Edition mission is now part of the Romulus System
region.

combat – See battle.

command – This word means “have in play.”

Commander – This keyword establishes a personnel as the matching commander of
the specified ship.

damage – Each damage card on a ship reduces its HULL integrity by 35%. This effect
is the same whether you are using rotation damage (one “hit” plus any two damage
cards would destroy a ship) or Tactic cards (the effects of the damage markers are
added to those of the Second Edition damage cards).

deck – This word means “draw deck,” and does not refer to any side decks.

destroy – This word means “discard” when used on a card to refer to itself. It means
“nullify” when used on one card to refer to a different card. For example, the phrase
“destroy this event” means “discard this event”, while the phrase “destroy an event”
means “nullify an event.”

dilemmas – The phrase “returns to its owner’s dilemma pile” means “is replaced under
the mission” (to be encountered again). Do not replace any dilemma under a mission
unless this phrase is used, even if its conditions were not met.

Failing to meet the conditions of a dilemma does not stop your personnel. A dilemma
does not stop any personnel unless it specifically says so.

* Dominion affiliation cards – All Dominion affiliation cards that do not have the Alpha
keyword are treated as if they had a Γ (Gamma Quadrant) icon. See Jem’Hadar.

engagement – See battle.

Evek, Attaché to the Demilitarized Zone – This personnel cannot download First
Edition capturing-related cards.

Holodeck – See ships.

I.K.C. and I.K.S. – See persona.

* icons – Many icons have a revised look on Second Edition cards. Such icons are
treated as the First Edition version of those icons for all purposes such as
compatibility, probing, and staffing ships.

The past icon is treated as an alternate universe icon.

Do not convert any other icons found only on Second Edition cards (such as the
Deep Space Nine, Earth, and The Next Generation icons) to First Edition icons.

Intelligence – See skills.

Jem’Hadar – All Jem’Hadar personnel are treated as if they had a [KW] (Ketracel-
White) icon. See Dominion affiliation cards.

keywords – Keywords are used the same as in Second Edition. See Bajoran
Resistance, Commander, personnel.

Kira Nerys, Colonel Kira – This personnel is “Colonel Kira” for Treaty:
Romulan/Bajoran.

missions – A mission’s game text (including requirements) and span are treated as
though they were repeated identically on the opponent’s end of a mission. The icons
identifying which affiliations can attempt a mission are converted to the two
corresponding versions of those icons (for both ends of the mission).

Order – As in Second Edition rules, any game text beginning with the word “Order –”
(including that on Interrupt cards) can be used only during the Execute Orders
segment of your own turn.

*past icon – See icons.

persona – Use the card title of a Second Edition personnel or ship to determine if it is
a version of a First Edition persona. For example, Elim Garak, Agent of the Obsidian
Order, is the same persona as the First Edition cards Elim, Elim Garak, and Plain,
Simple Garak (but not Garak, from the First Anthology, The Dominion, and
Reflections sets).

Klingon ships use the designation “I.K.S.” in Second Edition. This is treated as “I.K.C.”
in the First Edition for determining persona. For example, the I.K.S. Lukara is the
same persona as the I.K.C. Lukara.

personnel – Second Edition personnel have no classification. They receive no benefits
and suffer no penalties from cards affecting classifications. If a Second Edition
personnel has one of the personnel types listed as a skill (ENGINEER, MEDICAL,
OFFICER, SCIENCE, or SECURITY), it is a skill, not a classification. See skills.

Any keywords listed on a personnel are treated as though they were in that
personnel’s lore for purposes of any First Edition cards. For example, the keyword
“High Council Member” on Duras, Son of a Traitor allows him to report for free at The
Great Hall (which allows personnel with “High Council” in lore to play for free).

Any abilities on a personnel are treated as one special skill with no skill dot.

plays in your core – This phrase means “plays on table.”

Programming – See skills.

remove from the game – This phrase means “place out-of-play.”

ships – Each Second Edition ship has a Tractor Beam. They do not have a Holodeck
(though you may play Holodeck Door on such a ship to add one). See persona.

skills – Each new skill used in the Second Edition corresponds to a specific First
Edition skill.

Astrometrics – This skill is treated as Astrophysics or Stellar Cartography. You
choose one of those two skills each time you encounter a dilemma referring to
Astrometrics or use a non-dilemma card providing (or requiring) Astrometrics. You do
not have to choose in advance whether an Astrometrics personnel has Astrophysics
or Stellar Cartography, and you may choose differently each time you use the skill. If a
personnel has 2 or more Astrometrics (or a dilemma requires 2 or more
Astrometrics), each level of Astrometrics can be assigned differently as either of the
two First Edition skills.

Intelligence – This skill is treated as Klingon Intelligence when used on a Klingon-
affiliation personnel, Obsidian Order when used on a Cardassian-affiliation
personnel, Section 31 when used on a Federation-affiliation personnel, and Tal Shiar
when used on a Romulan-affiliation personnel. A card’s printed affiliation is used to
make this determination; for example, the skill is not changed or lost if a personnel
becomes Non-Aligned.

Programming – This skill is treated as Computer Skill.

Telepathy – This skill is treated as Empathy.

Transporters – This skill is treated as Transporter Skill.

When you add or change a skill using a First Edition card (such as Reflection
Therapy or Frame of Mind), you cannot select one of these Second Edition skills to
add or change to.

Telepathy – See skills.

Tractor Beam – See ships.

Transporters – See skills.

uniqueness – Non-unique personnel and ships are universal, and treated as though
they had the universal symbol (❖ ) at the beginning of their card title.

Unique personnel, ships, and missions are treated as such, though the dots (•) at the
beginning of their titles are ignored.

If an event card is marked unique (•), treat it as though it had the word “(Unique.)” at
the end of its game text.

when – As in Second Edition rules, you may use text beginning with this word only
once each time the described trigger occurs.

Winn Adami – This persona is the same as the First Edition persona “Vedek Winn.”
See persona.
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